messier object


i was not ready, no, no.
2009, December 25, 1:41 am
Filed under: music | Tags: , , ,

This is I suppose a bit out of the ordinary for what this blog is supposed to be, but.

vic chesnutt, 1964-2009

Athens (GA) great Vic Chesnutt has died is comatose?.

I had a chance to see him play last month and turned it down because I was feeling under the weather.  Damn, am I going to miss his music.  The first time I heard of him was while I was super-obsessed with Christine Fellows (not that I’m still not or anything but) and I found out the haunting secret track on her 2 Little Birds was actually off Chesnutt’s Is the Actor Happy? and sought out everything I could find by him at the time.  Some great and, yeah, pretty dark stuff.  It’s really gonna be hard to get through “Flirted With You All My Life” now.

If you haven’t heard him:

the seminal West of Rome.

live at the 40 Watt Christmas Party, 2005.

on Fresh Air three weeks ago.

purchase.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I have.  Rest in final peace, guy.

(updated: Friday, 10:34:53)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

